What are you looking for?

2019 Excellence in Farming Awards

ForFarmers News ForFarmers News27-11-2019

The high anticipated Excellence in Farming Awards are back. The awards have been running four years and aims to recognise and reward farmers that are excelling in one of the three awards categories: Dairy Feed Efficiency Award, Forage Manager of the Year and Youngstock Producer of the Year. 

Our knowledgeable judges completed two rounds of judging and have travelled across England, Scotland and Wales. The standard has been incredibly high which has made the judge's decisions even more difficult.

Awards Ceremony

On Thursday 21st November the regional finalists and their account managers, headed to London for the annual awards luncheon and ceremony. The event was held at the Farmer's Club in Westminster.

Following a champagne reception, Steven Read, UK COO welcomed all of the guests and in particular the nominees and highlighted how well they had done to make it to the top 6 in their category. 

After lunch the awards presentation began. Robin Weening, Business Unit Director and Henry Verwaijen, Group Marketing Director announced the winners for each category and the results were:

Dairy Feed Efficiency

2019 Excellence in Farming Awards - Dairy Efficiency Winner - Britten Farming

National winner
Britten Farming, Green Farm, Somerset

Regional winner
C C & C J Lovatt, Sprinks Farm, Cheshire

Regional finalists
Mr D Brewster, Boclair Farm, Glasgow
Mr R J & Mrs S McKie, Hound Hill Farm, Dorset
Mr K Berry & Son, Brimstone Farm, Swindon
W Herdman & Sons, Gaynes Lodge, Cambridgeshire


Forage Manager of the Year

2019 Excellence in Farming Awards - Forage Manager of the Year Winner - J H Hutchinson

National winner 
J H Hutchinson & Son Ltd, Wilks Farm, North Yorkshire

Regional winner
C A Green & Son, Bedchester Farm, Dorset

Regional finalists
Messrs Fielding, Pulford Farm, Blackburn
J N Harrison & Sons, Downhall Farm, Cardiff
Waterford Farm Partnership, Waterford Farm, Devon
C R T Pierrepont Farm, Pierrepont Farm, Surrey


Youngstock Producer of the Year

2019 Excellence in Farming Awards - Youngstock Producer Winner - W B Bowden & Sons

National winner
W B Bowden & Sons, Boswidjack Farm, Cornwall

Regional winner
Mr D J Harrison, Dundraw Farm, Cumbria

Regional finalists
M Madders Farming Ltd, Church Farm, Stafford
John Baggs Ltd, Worgret Manor Farm, Wareham
Mr & Mrs Howells, Blaengelli Farm, Carmarthenshire
O M Davies & Sons, Pencwarre Farm, Pembrokeshire


Speaking at the ceremony Henry Verwaijen said; “This year’s entries were once again of an extremely high standard, demonstrating many fine examples of forward-thinking, professional farmers within the ForFarmers customer base. Every winner should be very proud of their award as there was a wide selection of exceptional nominees in every category.”

Congratulations to all of this year's nominees, finalists and winners. We hope the winners enjoy their study trip to Europe.

We are pleased to say that the Excellence in Farming Awards will be back in 2020.