For the Future of Farming


Excellence in Farming 2017 winners announced

Afbeelding: Awards 2017

Farmers at the top of their game have been recognised in this year’s ForFarmers Excellence in Farming Awards.

The national winners, announced at a presentation ceremony in London on November 22nd are Adrian Smith based in Middlewich, Cheshire, the Wannop family from Morecambe, Lancashire and John Heller, based near Truro in Cornwall. The three winners won the national awards for Forage Manager, Dairy Feed Efficiency and Youngstock Producer respectively.

Youngstock Producer of the Year

Forage Manager of the Year

Afbeelding: Smith

Forage-focussed farmer Adrian Smith from Brook House Farm, won the title of Forage Manager of the Year thanks to his continued attention on forage quality as a building block to profitability. ForFarmers commercial director Nick Johns said: “Adrian’s attention to detail when it comes to forage management is second-to-none. Silage clamps are mapped field by field so poorer feed can be identified and re-seeded the next year. He always tries to improve on the past year’s performance and his target is to be top of national league tables in terms of ‘milk from forage’.”

Dairy Feed Efficiency Award

Henry Verwaijen, ForFarmers Marketing Director, who awarded the prizes said: “All the farmers here have demonstrated that attention to detail and an attitude focused on continual improvement, whatever their system, is the key to making the most from their farming enterprise. This is what makes them winners and we are delighted to be working with farmers such as these.”

Each winner wins two places on an organised study tour in Europe.